top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Pons

Long time waiting...

Well, the Austin market being what it is has had me a long time waiting. First was the search for a contractor and architect, I finally found both. For the architect I am using Edward Road Designs (http://www.edwardroaddesign.com/ ), the designer Jessica Frick did a fantastic job putting together the plans to get the items into permitting with the city of Austin (more on this to come). The contractor is John Golat with Home Pixel Pro (https://homepixelpro.com/homepixel ). Thus far both have been super responsive and attentive which eases my mind and soul! here is the final floor plan which increases the square footage from 1714 to 1830 and minimizes hallways (which I HATE):

We went into permitting with the city of Austin early in June, we should hear if we have the demo permit next Monday and John has ordered dumpsters to be delivered on my Birthday (could not be a better present). In the mean time there has been fumigations occurring as there are a crazy number of roach carcasses for an empty house, and some design decisions and materials being ordered.


Fist was getting flooring underway. I decided on engineered wood for the majority of he house and cement tile for the bathrooms and back splash. The wood flooring is from Hardwood Bargains (https://www.hardwoodbargains.com/ ). I was able to find one that is being discontinued and therefore was cheaper per square foot. Its a hand scraped natural Acacia 7" wide plank board.

I then started a mad search for tile flooring which can spand a WIDE range of prices from $2 a square foot to $500+. Well since I am not made of money I found that I really wanted handmade cement tile and found a place in Leon Mexico (where I am originally from) that does it at a very reasonable cost. Here is the website, they customize any colors and designs! https://www.tododemosaico.com/


I found some designs on other websites that I liked and they re-produced them in the colors that I wanted at a 1/4th of the price. Here are the pictures of the tiles that I selected. I know I am biased but I LOVE them. They should be ready to ship soon as well which is a much shorter lead time than I originally anticipated. There are also some pictures of the hand making and drying process. The idea is to use the Octopus in the master bath floor, the southwest in one guest bathroom, and the stars in the main powder/guest bath. The Hexagons will go on the shower walls (same three colors on all the tiles). The Otomi pattern will be the kitchen backsplash with black cabinets on bottom and white uppers and shelves.

Appliances where next to order, this was a tough decision as I wanted the fanciest range possible. I ended up going with the smaller 36" range as I realize its not a home for 20 people! Here is a picture of the appliances ordered. I ended up getting a Wolf range and Samsung everything else! The microwave will be "built-in" into the lower cabinets of the island so it does not sit on the counter.

Other items purchased have been ad hoc as things go on sale. I purchased the 3 toilets from Porcelanosa https://www.porcelanosa-usa.com/ . I went with a one piece white toilet with a skirt for ease of cleaning. The bathroom faucets will all be the same model, in the more private bathrooms (the Octopus and Southwest) they are going to be matte black and brushed bronze in the guest/powder bath that is accessible from the living area.





I am also most excited about the Front door and Patio Doors that I ordered from Diseno Forjado. They are iron doors ordered from Monterey Mexico. (Check them out on Facebook!). These are pictures of the doors ordered and pictures from other peoples orders to see the quality!


Keep your fingers crossed that we start Demo on my 44th Birthday!

389 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


ellengraper
2021年7月08日

I love the doors!

いいね!
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page