top of page
Search
  • VPons

First Chemotherapy session

So on Wednesday the 18th I got a port put in. My mom and dad were in attendance the whole time and have been a great support. It was an easy operation and no complications, just like how I like my flights uneventful! Also if I ever decide to become a heroine addict I have an easy in to the main veins! Below is a picture of pre-surgery.


The chemotherapy started on Thursday the 19th, it consists of 4 chemotherapy drugs, but two are delivered at the same time. The first three are done at the hospital and the 4th is started at the hospital but then you are sent home with a little back pack... for 46 hours...the only tricky part is to remember to carry it with you in the middle of the night when you go to the bathroom.


Not much to say about the chemotherapy, I did not have any wild side effects, other than I was a little allergic to one of the chemos, I got doped up with Benedryl and all was well after that. Some mild nausea but thankfully there are drugs for that as well.


My mom and Lisa had to learn how to disconnect the chemo pump and the needle from the port...ie my body. The least heart warming part is when the main person who is to disconnect you asks "what's the worst that can happen?, I mean can she die?" hmmm....


Made it back to Georgetown on Sunday the 22nd to be greeted by my brother Guicho, is husband Drake and the precious Baby Kate, looks like it will be a good Christmas


Here are some pics!







505 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5 comentários


toothakerd
30 de dez. de 2019

Glad everything went well. Praying for no complications going forward as well. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas with your family. Sending you lots of love!

Curtir

melisarosenberg
26 de dez. de 2019

Sending lots of ❤️ your way

Curtir

Joan and Randy Zisler
24 de dez. de 2019

Merry Christmas, Victoria🎄🥂🌷 looking forward to hearing about your holiday. Matt’s cooking this year. My first Christmas dinner I have not made in over 30years. Much love .

Curtir

Joe Kane
23 de dez. de 2019

Love you Vicki!!

Curtir

lloydroberts2008
23 de dez. de 2019

Thanks for the update. I pray you have a Merry Christmas! Blessings to all in your life...

Curtir
bottom of page