top of page
Search
  • VPons

Texas two-steppin'

So you may be asking yourself, weird title to the blog this time... well my health has been a little like that, two steps forward one step back! I am still feeling well so please read to the end, but maybe not 100% positive news this time.


In the last update I noted that the latest scan did not show any growth in the tumor, and while that is still true they have found some sort of new tumor on my ovaries. The doctors and I decided to wait and watch as we were not sure what the scans were showing (we were hoping it was just an enlargement of the ovaries since I am of "that age"). In my February scans it showed still no progression in the pancreas, but some growth in the ovaries. The result being that I am having surgery in Houston next week to take the ovaries out and see what all is going on there! So that is the quick update.... here is a longer and slightly more fun update


In late January, I became fully vaccinated against Covid-19. This was a huge milestone for me since I was one of the "at risk" populations. Now that I am fully vaccinated, I welcome people to come cough on me at their pleasure/comfort (but not really since that is just gross...but you get the idea).


With the advent of the vaccine and the impending surgery I decided to finish something I started November of 2019, that is to see the Aurora Borealis also known as the Norther Lights. As you can see from the pictures this time the trip was 100% a success. While I really don't recommend Fairbanks Alaska for much, the lights make the trip totally worth it. If you ever make it up there I recommend going with Jason and Heather at Aurora Adventures Alaska (https://alaskaauroraadventures.com/) they have a warm lodge, some good snacking food, and set your camera up for success. (Only one picture below is Jason's I get its not hard to figure out which one....)

While in Fairbanks I took advantage and went to Chena Hot springs and Ice Museum (again I've been to better hot springs and the ice museum is okay, but while in Rome.... here are pictures from those adventures....

Last but not least I bought a Kiln! I am all set up and my studio will be ready to rock and roll when I get better from the surgery. My amazing brother with only less than a day's notice went with me to McKinney Texas to pick up the Kiln. I have to say I was a little sneaky and did not tell him that I had found the Kiln on Craig's List until we were about 20 min from McKinney. I then proceeded to tell him that my conversations had been a little weird with the seller, and that the location was in a warehouse on Industrial Blvd. in a warehouse next to a cemetery (cue flashes of the Craig's List Killer ow). When we got there the guy wanted us to back into the warehouse (Guicho thankfully left the front end of the car out of the warehouse in case they wanted to close the garage bay). The seller looked a little rough with a bald head muscle shirt and his face mask was a bandana worn "bandito" style. Guicho nervously made small talk with the seller who proceeded to mention that he did cremations, I think Guicho would have bolted by then had I not been the slower runner out of the three.


As you can tell (because I am alive to tell the tale) it all worked out. The seller was a veterinarian (really nice) and did animal cremations in the warehouse, he used the kiln to make the commemorative paw prints but decided that is was too much of a hassle!



527 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All

7 comentarios


curtissnorman811
23 mar 2021

Gorgeous pics! Can't wait to see what you do with the kiln!

Me gusta

ellengraper
23 mar 2021

Awesome Aurora Borealis pictures, I'm jealous! Good luck with the surgery, I pray it is "textbook" and your recovery is swift!

Me gusta

gallardoerika25
23 mar 2021

Glad to hear you were able to enjoy the Northern Lights, how amazing! Looking forward to hear your adventures in kiln baking. Praying for a speedy recovery from the surgery.

Me gusta

elizabeth.dittmer
23 mar 2021

Vicky, what a great experience. Bucket list item for sure check-marked! We will be praying for the best of outcomes from your surgery next week. Big hugs and all our love from Houston!

Me gusta

smbartlet38
23 mar 2021

You are amazing! I wish I had some of your spirit.

Me gusta
bottom of page